You are here

AASA’s Paul McCarthy Receives 2020 Outstanding Leadership Award

Date: November 17, 2020

Annual award from AWDA is highest recognition in automotive aftermarket industry

Paul McCarthy, president and COO, Automotive Aftermarket Suppliers Association (AASA), was awarded the 2020 Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer by the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association (AWDA). AASA is the automotive aftermarket division of the Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Association (MEMA). The award, presented during a virtual ceremony on Nov. 16, 2020, is perceived as the automotive aftermarket industry’s highest honor. Given annually to professionals who exhibit outstanding leadership in advancing the aftermarket, this year’s award was also presented to Bill Hanvey, president and CEO, Auto Care Association. McCarthy and Hanvey were recognized for their collective leadership and collaboration on behalf of all aftermarket stakeholders.  

“I am humbled to have been selected to receive the Outstanding Leadership Award and thank AWDA for this incredible honor,” McCarthy said. “This year has been unprecedented in ways new to all of us. I know this award was given to represent something larger than me. This is about us working together for the future of our industry. I am proud and pleased to receive this award with my good friend, Bill Hanvey. Bill and I are representatives of an industry that continues to show resiliency, an innovative spirit, and a commitment to hard work and concern for our customers, employees, and each other. I am honored both by AWDA’s recognition and to be able to serve our industry.”

AASA and Auto Care have a long history of partnership on behalf of the automotive aftermarket, and in 2020, McCarthy and Hanvey demonstrated unmatched collaboration. Together, they worked to lead the aftermarket through the COVID-19 crisis. They started by making sure policy makers and others recognized the automotive aftermarket as an essential industry, and they made the difficult but right decision to put people and safety first and move AAPEX to a virtual platform in 2020. Additionally, both focused on protecting the future of the aftermarket by securing access to appropriate vehicle data and retaining consumer choice. The recent Right to Repair win in Massachusetts and the upcoming REPAIR bill that will be put before Congress are indicative of their leadership.

“I am extremely proud of Paul and Bill for their leadership and what they can accomplish through continued cooperation and collaboration,” said MEMA President and CEO Bill Long. “The automotive aftermarket is a significant contributor to the entire vehicle supplier industry, and the work Paul and Bill have done to advance the interests of the aftermarket has been significant and meaningful. In particular, I applaud Paul, who serves as one of the aftermarket industry’s top thought-leaders and strategists, for his ability to provide a path forward for vehicle parts manufacturers. His hard work and dedication show every day, and we congratulate him for this award.”
The annual Outstanding Leadership Award in Honor of Jack Creamer recognizes an individual, employed in the aftermarket, who over the past several years, has made a unique and monumental contribution to the industry and/or AWDA. The accomplishment that warrants this award must go well above and beyond any routine or day-to-day activity and shall be reflective of a commitment to the industry that few individuals can match. The award is named in honor of the late Jack Creamer, former president of AWDA. Creamer, who received the award in 2000, began his aftermarket career in 1963 as a salesman for Wheels Inc., an automotive and marine parts distributor. He eventually worked his way to company president. While serving AWDA, Creamer was responsible for the development and execution of an extensive industry education program. In 1995, he was named president of AWDA. Over the course of his storied career, Creamer made significant contributions to the automotive aftermarket. He continues to be regarded as an icon in the industry.

Additional information about the Outstanding Leadership Award can be found via this link.


Printer-friendly version