You are here

U.S. Extends Border Closure Agreements with Canada, Mexico into July

Date: June 23, 2020

To prevent the spread of the coronavirus pandemic, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security announced that it has extended the closure of the nation’s borders with Canada and Mexico for nonessential travel until July 21.

“The Department of Homeland Security will ensure that the measures taken at our borders will protect America from all threats,” Chad Wolf, acting secretary of the DHS, said on June 16, “including threats against the health and safety of our citizens. Based on the success of the existing restrictions and the emergence of additional global COVID-19 hotspots, the Department will continue to limit non-essential travel at our land ports of entry with Canada and Mexico. This extension protects Americans while keeping essential trade and travel flowing as we reopen the American economy.”

Printer-friendly version